5 Must-Read Funny Mystery Books

5 Must-Read Funny Mystery Books

Get ready to laugh, solve crimes, and laugh some more with these 5 must-read funny mystery books.

1. Bank Shot by Donald E. Westlake

“Perfect for fans of Carl Hiaasen or Lawrence Block’s Bernie Rhodenbarr series, the Dortmunder novels by New York Times–bestselling and multiple Edgar Award–winning author Donald E. Westlake are a rollicking treat that combine fast-moving suspense with laugh-out-loud wit.”

2. The Burglar Who Traded Ted Williams by Lawrence Block

“Bernie Rhodenbarr is actually trying to earn an honest living. It’s been an entire year since he’s entered anyone’s abode illegally to help himself to their valuables. But now an unscrupulous landlord’s threat to increase Bernie’s rent by 1,000% is driving the bookseller and reformed burglar back to a life of crime — though, in all fairness, it’s a very short trip. And when the cops wrongly accuse him of stealing a priceless collection of baseball cards, Bernie’s stuck with a worthless alibi since he was busy burgling a different apartment at the time . . . one that happened to contain a dead body locked inside a bathroom.

“So Bernie has a dilemma. He can trade a burglary charge for a murder rap. Or he can shuffle all the cards himself and try to find the joker in the deck — someone, perhaps, who believes that homicide is the real Great American Pastime.”

3. Pot Luck: A James Emerson Harris Mystery by David L. Gersh

“Things always seem to go wrong for Jimmy Harris. The small coastal town of San Buenasara is gripped in a recession. Jimmy’s law practice is in the tank.

“Wee Willy’s is the hot pot company in town. And perhaps a way to stay afloat. Willy wants him to be president. To think, him a president.

“Alas, things are not what they seem. Mysterious shell companies own the stock. The company is broke, even though boxes of cash keep arriving. Jimmy finds himself up to his eyebrows in a struggle between the law and shadowy people who will do anything to get their way. Is it the drug cartel? The Mafia? Or is it the FBI?

“He stumbles. He bumbles. He’s arrested for murder. He needs to find a way through this maze. The alternatives are unthinkable.

“With the help of his once and future wife, Karen, and the resourcefulness of his law partner Clyde, maybe he can find a way out. And of course, Bruno, Karen and Jimmy’s long-haired dachshund, wants to help. He has a nose for mysteries.”

4. One Damn Thing After Another by Jodi Taylor

“The Chronicles of St. Mary’s tells the chaotic adventures of Max and her compatriots—Director Bairstow, Chief Leon Farrell, Mr. Markham, and many more—as they travel through time, saving St. Mary’s (too often by the very seat of their pants) and thwarting time-travelling terrorists, all the while leaving plenty of time for tea.

“From eleventh-century London to World War I, from the Cretaceous Period to the destruction of the Great Library at Alexandria, one thing is for sure: wherever the historians at St. Mary’s go, chaos is sure to follow in their wake.”

5. The Judas Pair by Jonathan Gash

“Every antique dealer is a bit of a detective, following clues to find the trophies that pay the rent, but when Lovejoy takes on the job of tracking down a pair of duelling pistols so rare that he’s not even sure actually exist, he needs all the instincts of a detective to pick his way through an unsolved crime. Along the way, he becomes convinced that the weapons do exist but that they have fallen into the hands of a vile murderer. Locating the ancient weapons seems like the least of his problems when Lovejoy then finds himself fighting for his life in a duel to the death!”

Receive top book recommendations directly in your inbox.

5 comments
BOOKGLOW
BOOKGLOW
ADMINISTRATOR
PROFILE

Posts Carousel

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Cancel reply

5 Comments

  • Avatar
    celeb networth
    December 23, 2020, 8:01 am

    These books have really interesting cover, thank you for sharing the nice review, I’m getting lazy to read, gotta back to the track.

    REPLY
  • Avatar

    I’ll create a hyperlink to the web page about my personal weblog.

    REPLY
  • Avatar
    Mp4 Moviez
    January 28, 2021, 8:55 am

    You must indulge in a contest for one of the greatest blogs over the internet. Ill suggest this web site!

    REPLY
  • Avatar
    slilpp login
    February 3, 2021, 2:07 pm

    You made some first rate factors there. I seemed on the internet for the difficulty and located most people will go along with together with your website.

    REPLY
  • Avatar
    到會
    February 4, 2021, 2:31 pm

    Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your weblog and in accession capital to assert that I get actually enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I will be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently quickly.

    REPLY

Latest Posts

Most Commented

Featured Videos

POT LUCK by David L. Gersh