Review: The Ice Palace Waltz: A Richly Detailed Historical Family Saga

Review: The Ice Palace Waltz: A Richly Detailed Historical Family Saga

Summary: In the late 1800s, two German Jewish immigrants marry and settle in Leadville, Colorado. Their life wasn’t easy in the rough mining town. As their children grew, some stayed in Leadville, while others moved to find the comforts of big city life in Denver. A few didn’t survive, leaving their families emotionally scarred and in near poverty, while others lived in comfort.

The Ice Palace Waltz by Barbara L. Baer

Immigrants continued to arrive, intermarrying with the previous settlers. Some of them blossomed, while others had debilitating health problems due to the high altitude. Some chose to move further away, to seek — and claim — their fortunes in cities like Chicago and New York.

Comments: The Ice Palace Waltz takes its name from a folly built in Leadville in 1895. When the town’s fortunes started to die along with the silver boom, Leadville tried to turn itself into a tourist destination by building an enormous replica of a Norman castle out of wood framing and ice. The palace included a ballroom, skating rink, a restaurant, a carousel and other marvels. Tourists did flock to see it, but it melted within three months after an unusually warm winter. The feat was never attempted again.

The Ice Palace Waltz describes the Jewish American experience of a couple extended families from the late 19th century until the beginning of the Second World War. It is richly detailed with historical facts, like the stock market crash of 1929, and real people, such as the Guggenheims. In the author’s acknowledgments, she mentions that the story is strongly drawn from her own family’s experiences. As I read the novel, I could tell the author was fully invested in the story. This final note gave me more insight into her motivation for writing this family saga.

Recommended for readers of Historical Fiction and Family Sagas, especially those interested in the history of Colorado or the early 20th century.

4 comments
Gale Zasada
Gale Zasada
CONTRIBUTOR
PROFILE

Posts Carousel

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Cancel reply

4 Comments

  • Avatar
    immobilier etats unis
    May 13, 2020, 10:51 am

    you have done a great job i hope you will do much batter in the future

    REPLY
  • Avatar
    immobilier etats unis
    May 13, 2020, 10:51 am

    you have done a great job i hope you will do much batter in the future

    REPLY
  • Avatar
    Barbara Baer
    August 6, 2020, 10:55 pm

    History of family past and present is keeping "The Ice Palace Waltz" active for me: a relative from Leadville CO family got in touch thanks to the book…a half third cousin related on my father’s side sharing lots of family tales and information I never had, so I’m very grateful. Barb

    REPLY
  • Avatar
    Barbara Baer
    August 6, 2020, 10:55 pm

    History of family past and present is keeping "The Ice Palace Waltz" active for me: a relative from Leadville CO family got in touch thanks to the book…a half third cousin related on my father’s side sharing lots of family tales and information I never had, so I’m very grateful. Barb

    REPLY

Latest Posts

Most Commented

Featured Videos

THE ICE PALACE WALTZ by Barbara L. Baer